My very first blog entry.. Wow, here we go! :)

Hi there!

I’m Kelsey Rose. Sometimes referred to as Kels, Kelseykins, Shortie, Kiwi, (or my personal favorite) “Hey, where’d Kelsey g- Oh, There you are! Sorry I didn’t see you, I was looking right over your head. How tall are you anyway? 5 foot?”

Nope.

4′ 11″. :)

Yup, that’s right folks. You’d better believe it. This girl is one inch taller than meeting the classifications of being a legal “little person”. (Too bad.. some of that scholarship would’ve been nice to get..)

Now, this girl may frequently be mistaken for a 14-year-old and offered a children’s menu and crayons when she’s goes out to eat. She may also buy a size “short” jeans and still have to hem three inches off the bottom for them to fit. And, of course, no normal conversation she has with anyone (even her own twin brother) is complete until she randomly hears them say “Wow, you are really short”.

But,not all is lost for our petite heroine!

For, as our good ol’ literary friend Shakespeare once said, “And though she be but little, she is fierce!”

This. My friends, is a fact.

I’m a little girl with BIG dreams! Dreams of gracing the stage on the Great White Way. Dreams of thanking my good friend Sutton Foster for all her support during my Tony Award acceptance speech. Dreams of- Oh, sorry. Am I getting a little ahead of myself?

Well, these big dreams, once a far stretched idea seemingly out of reach, have just gotten a little closer.

I have been accepted to transfer to New York University to study Vocal Performance-Music Theatre right in the heart of NYC!

NYC!

Yes dear reader, my dream school has been attained! And, thanks to the support of my awesome parents and family, I am actually able to accept the invitation to study at such a prestigious school!

Now, you may be asking yourself “Transfer? Which other awesome university is this girl coming from?” And the answer, my friends, is, that I spent my first two years of college studying Vocal Performance at the great Big 10 college known as Michigan State University. GO GREEN! Needless to say these past two years have been full of great study, lots of football, and building relationships with friends and professors whom I love and respect.

I loved my time spent at MSU and I will always and forever “Bleed Green”.

always.

But, at this point in my life I’m ready to trade in my green for some purple and add another chapter to my book. To take all the knowledge I have gained about both life and music from MSU and see what else NYU can teach me.

And that is what this blog is all about. Here I will catalogue my journey as I learn, discover, and meet all kinds of new and interesting people. I will give you a view of Manhattan through the eyes of a born and raised midwestern girl as she starts her new life in the big city! So, come on and join me! I promise it will be a fun ride full of excitement, passion, discovery, and most importantly music!

Love,

Kelsey ❤

2 thoughts on “My very first blog entry.. Wow, here we go! :)

Leave a Reply

